itemid7-EN

Legislation

The two intelligence services (State Security and the General Intelligence and Security Service) had to operate in a legal vacuum for a long time. Since 1991, regulations in the intelligence sector have greatly increased. By the Act of 18 July 1991 [pdf] the intelligence services were subjected to the review of the Standing Committee I.

A second milestone was the Act of 30 November 1998 governing the intelligence and security services [pdf], which for the first time set out the responsibilities of the civil and military intelligence services. Several amendments have been adopted over time.

Many other laws have been added or amended. The most relevant laws are the following:

  • the Act of 8 May 1880 on parliamentary inquiries [pdf];
  • the Act of 11 December 1998 [pdf] on classification and security clearances, certificates and advice (see also the Royal Decree of 24 March 2000 [pdf]);
  • the Act of 11 December 1998 [pdf], which designates the chairman of the Standing Committee I as the chairman of the Appeal body for security clearances, certificates and advice (see also The Royal Decree of 24 March 2000) [pdf];
  • the Act of 10 July 2006 [pdf] on threat assessment, which set up the Coordination Unit for Threat Assessment (see also the Royal Decree of 28 November 2006 [pdf]);
  • the Act of 27 April 2016 on additional measures to combat terrorism, modifying among others article 44 of the Police Functions Act of 5 August 1992 [pdf], to enable the creation of common databases and the Royal decree of 21 July 2016 on the common database FTF [pdf].
  • the Act of 18 July 1991 wich set the intelligence services to the review of the Standing Committee I — informal translation in German [pdf].
DISCLAIMER : In order to facilitate reading and comprehension, the various documents have been coordinated by the Standing Committee I. A meticulous drafting cannot guarantee the accuracy of the coordinated documents or of any other documents on this website. The Standing Committee I cannot under any circumstances be held liable for any damages arising out the use of this website. The user is requested to verify the information on this website and bring possible inaccuracies or gaps to the attention of the Standing Committee I.

| info@comiteri.be T (0)2 286 29 11 | F (0)2 286 29 99Leuvenseweg, 48/4 | 1000 BrusselsAbout this website

| beroepsorgaan@comiteri.be | T (0)2 286 29 11 | F (0)2 286 29 99 | Leuvenseweg, 48/5 | 1000 BrusselsAbout this website

itemid7-FR

Législation

Depuis leur création, les deux services de renseignement (la Sûreté de l’Etat et le Service Général du Renseignement et de Sécurité des Forces armées), ont longtemps travaillé dans un vide juridique. Toutefois, depuis 1991, la législation n’a cessé de se développer dans le secteur du renseignement. Tout d’abord, la Loi du 18 juillet 1991 [pdf] a soumis les services de renseignement au contrôle du Comité permanent R.

Ensuite, la Loi du 30 novembre 1998 [pdf] organique des services de renseignement et de sécurité est venue définir pour la première fois les missions ainsi que les compétences des services de renseignement civil et militaire. Cette loi a été modifié à plusieurs reprises.

Plusieurs autres lois ont complété ou modifié ce cadre juridique. Les lois principales sont les suivantes :

  • Loi du 3 mai 1880 sur les enquêtes parlementaires [pdf];
  • Loi du 11 décembre 1998 [pdf], qui réglemente le système de classification et les habilitations, attestations et avis de sécurité (voir aussi l'arrêté royal du 24 mars 2000 [pdf] );
  • Loi du 11 décembre 1998 [pdf] qui désigne le président du Comité permanent R comme président de l'Organe de recours en matière d'habilitations, attestations et avis de sécurité (voir aussi l'arrêté royal du 24 mars 2000 [pdf]);
  • Loi du 10 juillet 2006 [pdf] relative à l'analyse de la menace a créé l'Organe de coordination pour l'analyse de la menace (voir aussi l'arrêté royal du 28 novembre 2006 [pdf]);
  • Loi 27 avril 2016 relative à des mesures complémentaires en matière de terrorisme, modifiant notamment l’article 44 de la Loi sur la Fonction de police [pdf] en vue de permettre la création des banques de données communes et l’Arrêté royal du 21 juillet 2016 relatif à la banque de données commune FTF [pdf].
  • Loi 18 juillet 1991 organique du contrôle des services de police et de renseignement et de l’Organe de coordination pour l’analyse de la menace — Coordination officieuse en langue allemande [pdf]

 

DISCLAIMER : Dans le souci de faciliter la lecture et la compréhension du lecteur, les différents textes ont été coordonnés par le Comité permanent R. Bien que l'élaboration de ceux-ci se fasse avec tout le soin nécessaire, aucune garantie ne peut être donnée quant à l'exactitude des textes coordonnés ou de tout autre texte sur ce site. Le Comité permanent R ne peut en aucun cas être rendu responsable de tout un dommage résultant de l'utilisation de ce site. L’utilisateur est invité à contrôler les données et à signaler d'éventuelles inexactitudes ou lacunes.

| info@comiteri.be T (0)2 286 29 11 | F (0)2 286 29 99Rue de Louvain 48/4 | 1000 Bruxelles A propos de ce site

| beroepsorgaan@comiteri.be T (0)2 286 29 11 | F (0)2 286 29 99Rue de Louvain 48/5 | 1000 Bruxelles | A propos de ce site